McDougall Trust

Promoting public understanding
of electoral democracy


The Journal of Representative Democracy
Print ISSN 0034-4893

Representation, journal of the McDougall Trust, has been published (in the present series) since 1960. Its primary focus is the study of elections and voting systems; but it has a general interest in all matters relating to the theme of 'representative democracy'. Representation has established itself as a recognised journal of record and comment in its field, both within the United Kingdom and internationally.

Representation is read primarily by academics and students, journalists and election practitioners, but aims to be accessible to politically informed lay readers.

From 2006 (Volume 42) Representation has been published in association with Taylor & Francis.

Instructions for authors and Representation subscription information can be found at:

Members of relevant voluntary and community sector organisations (such as Electoral Reform Society) wishing to subscribe to Representation should contact the McDougall Trust directly at:

Editorial team

Dr Stephen Elstub  - Newcastle University, UK 
Dr Maarja Lühiste  - Newcastle University, UK 
Dr Constanza Sanhueza Petrarca  - University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Editorial Advisory Board

David Beetham  - University of Leeds, UK 
Sarah Birch - University of Essex, UK
Geoffrey Brennan - Chapel Hill, Australia
David Butler - Nuffield College, University of Oxford, UK
Joseph C.W. Chan - University of Hong Kong 
David Denver - Lancaster Unversity,UK 
David Estlund - Brown University, USA
Marc Fleurbaey - University Paris Descartes, France
Andrew Gamble - University of Cambridge, UK 
Robert Goodin - Australian National University, Australia
Achim Goerres - University of Cologne, Germany 
Richard S. Katz - The Johns Hopkins University, USA
Minha Kim - Sungkyunkwan University, Korea 
Jane Mansbridge - Harvard University, USA
Richard G. Niemi - University of Rochester, UK 
Pippa Norris - Harvard University, USA
Ed Phelps - Information Alliance
Gideon Rahat - Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel 
Ben Reilly - Australian National University, Canberra, Australia 
Andrew Reynolds - University of North Carolina, USA
Michael Saward - The Open University, UK
Paul Wilder - McDougall Trust, UK

Building National and International Electoral Networks

The editors of Representation are interested in furthering links with national and international groups involved in the study of elections, representation and voting systems. This is reflected in the range of individuals on our advisory board. We want to establish more formal links with specialist groups of political scientists.

Such arrangements have already been forged with, among others, the Elections, Public Opinion and Parties (EPOP) group of the British Political Studies Association and with the Comparative Representation and Electoral Systems Research Committee (ESRC) of the International Political Science Association. Individual members of those groups may receive Representation at a reduced rate on an agreed basis. We also invite papers for possible publication from members of those groups. We invite similar organisations to contact us.

Representation is published by Taylor & Francis in association with McDougall Trust 
(reg. charity. no. 212151).

In This Section :